Listed Buildings Information

Listed Buildings – Heywood & Middleton Parliamentary Constituency

The National Heritage List for England maintained by Historic England (formerly English Heritage) is the authoritative source for listed buildings. Unfortunately, there is no specific ‘Middleton’ category to filter the List. Instead, the Heywood & Middleton Parliamentary Constituency can be used. It equates to the former Middleton Borough plus the historic Middleton townships of Hopwood, Ashworth, Birtle and Bamford which now are part of Heywood and Rochdale. It also includes small parts of Castleton (Rochdale) and Heap (Bury).

Listed Buildings

Listed Buildings in Heywood and Middleton

Listed Buildings Information – Rochdale M.B.C.

Council website listed buildings page is HERE.

This is an old but helpful leaflet (contact details have been updated by us)

Rochdale MBC LBs & CAs



3 thoughts on “Listed Buildings Information

  1. Jen

    I also would like to know what the update is with Tonge Hall? Do we know what the plans are with this building? Thank you

  2. drm

    The fire damaged Tonge Hall was partially repaired and stabilised by Heritage Trust for the North West with a grant from Historic England around 6 years ago. Originally, it was going to be passed to the Trust for restoration but instead Rochdale Council took ownership and has run the site since. In 2016, Rochdale Council was planning to sell some land for development and use the money as an enabling development for restoring the Hall, see…
    But we have heard little since.

  3. Christopher Bennett

    Please can you inform me what is the current situation with Tonge Hall. It seems such a shame it is being left in the sorry state.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes:

<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong> 

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.